Zigbee Channel changes

Hi All, From a quick search it seems both HA and Zigbee2MQTT both requires a network rebuild in the event of a zigbee channel change with an established zigbee network.

Will Core allow a zigbee channel change on an established network without needing to re-pair devices?
And is this channel change without a re-pair of devices an officially supported Zigbee standard?

I’m asking as I have bad experiences with changing zigbee channels on established zigbee networks, and some really odd behavior afterwards, which makes me feel like it’s not officially supported.

Thanks

1 Like

I’m no expert but I’ve not seen a way to force the devices to find the new channel on command. I’ve seen the mesh heal itself with HE but it takes up to 24 hours so I suspect that’s just the devices “realizing” they’ve been abandoned and then going through the channels until they find the new one. I also know that with HE, and I assume it’s true with any controller (radio), that you can put the devices into “panic” mode by turning the radio off for at least 30 minutes after which the mesh rebuilds itself, perhaps with better routing than before.* Since I don’t believe HE is going anything special I have to think the 30-minute “panic” thing will work with any Zigbee controller attached to any system.

*I did this a few months ago with HE and it did not fix a stupid route like I hoped it would. I have a Hue outdoor motion sensor at the outskirts of my mesh that would drop off at least once/week because it usually connected directly to HE some 40’ and several walls away even though there is an excellent repeater just 15’ and one wall away.

In the last 3 weeks I have moved a third of my devices to Zigbee2MQTT and now the sensor connects to the expected repeater and hasn’t dropped even once. Whether it’s because the radio is different or that HE isn’t as smart as Zigbee2MQTT I can’t say.

YMMV

1 Like