Tasmota and Node Red

I’ve been spamming @jchurch with PM’s, and thought I’d best give him a break.

Given that my Hubitat Node Red integration has errors, I’m transitioning away from Hubitat for Tasmota devices. I already run Node Red, so it’s no biggie.

I’ve got the commands working for Tasmota to Node Red, and have set up a MQTT broker. I know what all the QOS are, but what is best practise?

My main question is how do I store/poll the status of the lights/switches etc? In the Hubitat-Node-Red Nodes, the status was easily available. Do I have to subscribe to each light switch with a MQTT-in node, and then set the status as a flow/global variable?

Also, why is it called MQTT in, when it seems to be coming OUT from the MQTT database?

1 Like

Hey @Mike

I’m by no means an expert on Node Red or Tasmota but I understand a teency bit about MQTT…

With Tasmota specifically, you can either use the Tasmota node (node-red-contrib-tasmota) or in the inbuilt MQTT nodes and then reference the Tasmota MQTT documentation (MQTT - Tasmota) to understand how their commands and topics are structured. For the former, most of the statuses are provided within the nodes however with the latter you can subscribe to the RESULTS topic and this generally shows what has changed on the device.

I’m in a similar position as yourself where I’m not migrating immediately, but more on a case by case basis, I’m trying to learn more about node red so I can incorporate it into my overall HA. Tasmota for me is a logical starting point as its a purely local control scenario…

Hope that’s at least a bit helpful.

Thanks

I think @RRodman is using Tasmota and MQTT directly from NodeRed so he can probably share some flows and or provide advice. I did it early last year but I didn’t save any configures.

document, document, document. Gonna have to sick @april.brandt on ya :rofl:

1 Like