Is it possible to define virtual devices?

As per the title is this possible.
I couldn’t find anything in the documentation.
As a complete novice to NR and I’m not finding it that intuitive. YET. (I have got a motion sensor sending it’s state change to Pushover but not how to change the actual text message. I am trying). :grinning:
My thinking is I can define virtual devices then play in NR.
This way it will have no impact on my current setup.
If so, what would be the code format and where would it be stored.
I appreciate we are in beta and we need to walk before we can run but thought I’d ask.
Thanks.

2 Likes

To change msg.payload you can use the Set-node and then feed the payload into Pushover.

Edit: For Pushover I’m using Set-nodes similar to these…

3 Likes

There’s some information in the docs for this, but @april.brandt is the one to give you a good and understandable answer. I’m sure she’ll get back to you in her evening.

4 Likes

Thanks for this. Much appreciated.
I’ll keep playing… :wink:

I did a search and a quick scan but nothing came up.
I’ll revisit and see what I can find.
Thankyou.

1 Like

@bobbles load the hubitat nodes through manage pallet. Connect through maker. You can disable a few simple automations in HE. Run them through CORE for experience then swap back if you have to walk away. Just disable the flow in NR if you dint have it perfected and go back. When you get ready to move things the flows are built. No impact.

My previous response was a quick solve.
You can do this through a function or through a change node like Carl explained. I’m now at my full time job, but I think that @RRodman would be able to give you a few intuitive examples here today so that you can dive back in later when you have time.

Although this would definitely get your feet wet, There’s no satisfaction in seeing a message or seeing how your devices will work. That’s why I recommend connecting through HE with the nodes through maker. The reward is sweeter